W… is for writing.

I haven’t been on here in a little while because writing my thesis trumps writing a blog.

However in trundling around the interwebz I’ve discovered some nifty and funny things to help with writing, and I wanted to put them all together:

1) Carl Zimmer’s Index of Banned Words – good, good stuff. It was funny how many of the banned words showed up in the titles of papers in my reference list. For banned words they seem pretty popular!

2) Online Course in Science Journalism – I would like to do this one day if I have time, and decide that a career in the fields of Clinical Neuropsychology and research doesn’t quite fulfil me.

3) How to writing consistently boring scientific literature – I must confess to following many of these steps in my writing, at times. Can I blame years of habit, and perhaps a smidgeon of laziness?

4) How to write a scientific paper, from the Annals of Improbable Research – part of me suspects my research supervisor actually uses this page as a writing guide.

5) Strunk & White’s Elements of Style – a book, not a webpage, but since I first heard of it I’ve been seeing it everywhere. Seems like it’s the go-to book for improving your writing. Somewhere I also think I’ve got Bill Bryson’s Troublesome Words – but I can’t find it.

6) OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab – haven’t used this yet but it looks promising. As does the Paradigm Online Writing Assistant. I found them both here.

Is anyone out there? Do you have any other suggestions for writing guides?

